Identity of my good luck money bone!

Woman with Star, eyes closed and wishing

Wishing on a star

 

It’s from a mapache…otherwise known as raccoon…and NOT, as suggested by the representative of a litigious (and negligent, I might add) Indian Shrew, the aforementioned Mr. Shrew’s lost appendage. See the earlier post for a picture of my lucky money bone.   

I have a long history with raccoons, so it is fitting that my lucky bone should be from a raccoon…not so lucky for the raccoon, though, is it?   

I used to leave my bedroom window open so my cat could run in and out…not a lot of us have screens in San Francisco. My bed was under the window and I would feel him run over me several times during the night, but I didn’t bother opening my eyes. Then one night I found 2 raccoons in the kitchen eating his food in the middle of the night. They chittered away at me like they knew me; no aggressive behaviour, just a hey Sarah, what’s happenin’ kind of attitude. When I yelled at them they ran into my bedroom (rather than out the door I had opened for them) and over my bed, looking behind them as if to say what IS your problem; we like you better when you are sleeping.   

Another time, during the day, they sat up in my living room and ate almost an entire box of 12 PowerBars and a large brownie. I arrived home in the middle of their eating spree and heard something running through my office. When I looked out the window, there were two raccoons with PowerBars in their hands trying to hobble off and not lose their loot. Back in the living room, my couch was littered with PowerBar wrappers.   

With all the raccoon stories I have up my sleeve, one would think I would have a picture of one of them, but one would be wrong. I only have the picture of my lucky bone which is in an earlier post. And so, I am posting a picture of the singing elephant seal sisters from a day trip to Año Nuevo.   

Elephant Seals singing

I think they were singing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

